The Tournament

XXVIII World Baseball Softball Confederation (WBSC) U-18 Baseball World Cup 2017 Thunder Bay will see fifty games played between Port Arthur Stadium and Baseball Central. Tournament dates are September 1st to September 10th.

Twelve National teams will represent the baseball playing continents of the World. The twelve nations that have secured their place in the pinnacle youth international competition include: United States, Cuba, Canada, Mexico, Nicaragua, Japan, Korea, Chinese Taipei, Italy, Netherlands South Africa and Australia.

The event’s hockey counterpart is the World Junior Hockey Championship. The soccer counterpart is the FIFA Under 20. The event began in 1981, and took place every year until 1997 when the WBSC switched to a two-year format between Championships.

Several Major League stars have played in this event including Larry Walker (retired),  Brett Lawrie (White Sox), Dalton Pompey (Jays), Russell Martin (Jays) from Canada;

Joe Mauer (Twins), Andrew McCutcheon (Pirates), JJ Hardy, (Orioles),    Justin Upton, (Tigers), Francisco Lindor, (Indians), and Buster Posey (Giants) from the United States;

and Shin-Soo Choo (Rangers) for Korea, Yasiel Puig, (Dodgers) for Cuba,    Yu Darvish (Rangers), Shohei Ohtani (Nippon Ham Fighters) for Japan;

Nine players from the XXIV WBSC U-18 Baseball World Cup 2010 event in Thunder Bay have played MLB games.


Official Schedule